When you drift between the past and present….

A gentle whiff of a familiar fragrance is enough to evoke a strong sense of nostalgia in me.

These days it is getting just too overwhelming.

I then drift to a distant land of mango groves, rainy days, simple joys of living and endless laughter and everything good…

A sliver of memory of a bad friend comes in between but then it was long forgotten…so no worries.

Mom’s specially aromatic food, comes alive and I can actually see the steam arising out of it.

Dad’s jokes rings in my ears and his smile and laughter stabs through my heart now. Oh, I do miss you dad….hope you are born again and happy somewhere…

Then a shrill phone ring  takes every bit of the beautiful reminiscing of old memories away…

Till a whiff of a familiar fragrance passes by, I drown myself into the mundane.

One comment

  1. This resounds so well with me. As age intrudes, so that newness of experience gets harder to find and still harder to enjoy, but especially when I am cooking, trying some new combination of herbs, or when I find a new place to stop and rest for a while…

Leave a Reply

