The little treasure that is always there but we miss yet when we find it, fills us with immense satisfaction and renewed belief in what we call the ‘life’

old-house

Probably my blog content may not be as big as the title itself.

Or maybe it will be…

resilient  I had always wanted to be resilient but I always felt shattered with tiny ravages that happened. When I bounced back, or thought I did, something of me was missing.

A bit of trust, a bit of joy, a bit of enthusiasm, a bit of child, a bit of girl, a bit of youth, a bit of motherhood, a bit of love, a bit of innocence, a bit of hearty laughter, a bit of adventure, a bit of many things…which we never knew we had in us. But when it goes away, we feel it.

While the Gen X is credited or discredited with a lack of passion or old fashioned love, I find their resilience a great pillar of strength that they can lean on quite comfortably.

res

Many years ago, when I was playing with my friends in a gay abandon near the garden by our house in the tiny beautiful hamlet of Palakkad in Kerala, we decided to create a secret history by carving our names in the bark of the tree, in the inner innards of the mighty tree. We could then carve just our initials. J, R and M

Many years later, 30 to be precise, I went again to my old pad, which now had new tenants. But the tree was still there. resilient as I had wanted it to be. Surviving a world of storms, rains,  thunderstorms and tree-cutting!

Did I imagine the tree or did the tree whoosh an extra serving of breeze! Can’t say but i searched the innards of the tree with much difficulty, since my frame had grown bigger. And there it was, the J, R and M! It touched instantly the day in circa 1982!

Then on that day when we carved our initials, we thought it was a historical day. I don’t know where J and M are now. I don’t know if, they too like me, had come and paid a visit to our historical monument (of a tree). I don’t even know if they remember me or the day like I do so well!

Memories like this – do they make you lose that tiny portion of resilience in you or fill you with more?!!!

image

 

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

